Olympic Gold

I was in Dallas this past weekend for an event and during dinner (we had at least 40 people) I was talking to my friend Mitch and I hear from the other end of our group my name, or variations of my name, being called frantically. I swiveled around and I see a woman from a table next to ours come over with my friend Gillian. The woman introduced herself as an eventer and that my friends had told her I rode horses as well. So we exchanged pleasantries and ask each other why we were in the area. She told me she was there for the weekend to do a show with Mike Huber. As in Olympic Gold Medalist, USEA Fall of Fame Mike Huber.

I have to admit, I was a little giddy. My friend Mitch perked up. He’s really into signing things. Like…he’s a writer and gets asked for his autograph, so he likes to sign just about anything he can. Books, autograph cards, stuffed animals, arms, babies, etc.. So while I’m getting all flustered about Mike Huber and talking about horses, he starts hitting me, not very discreetly, in the shoulder (because at this point he’s no longer sitting across from me, he’s now behind me). I know what he wants. He wants to sign an Olympian.

I can’t really blame him. I wanted to meet Mike Huber but I was also kind of getting red in the ears and embarrassed. Gillian and Mitch were pressuring me to initiate ‘contact’, like friends do. So finally after I finished off half a gin and tonic I decided I would in fact go ask my new equestrian friends if I could meet Mike and if my friend Mitch could sign him. Wouldn’t you know, it’s just how horse people are, I showed them my horse pictures, they showed me their horse pictures and when I asked if Mitch could sign Mike they were all game for it and even posed for pictures. And that’s how I met a gold medalist equestrian Olympian.

Leave a Reply

