Lost In Translation

I’ve only been with my current trainer for a couple months. We’re still learning what I do and don’t know and/or remember regarding my classical training. My lesson last Saturday went really well. I always surprise myself when I am asked to do something new. I either get it right away because it’s something my body remembers doing or I muddle along until my brain understands what my trainer is asking. I don’t exactly feel embarrassed but I feel something self-deprecating. I get frustrated that I can’t remember my cues. I should remember how to do a leg yield versus shoulder in versus turning on the forehand. Part of it is that the cues are not always the same from what I was originally taught and part of it is I just can’t remember what I’m doing. I guess a decade off will do that to you.

The nice thing is that my trainer knows when to praise me and when to tell me to get my ‘shit’ together. Of course the quickest way to get me to throw away a perfectly good frame is to tell me how great my current frame is. Guess the praise goes right to my head and I stop working at it. I’m also being put on horses that are considered hard to ride. Not because they aren’t trained but because they make you work for it. I like that challenge. It definitely has helped my confidence. I’m not ready to tackle Ben all by myself or start schooling him at the canter but I’m hoping we get there one day. Until then I’ll take lessons so that my skills are polished enough for Aria when she gets out of training.

Leave a Reply

